Under 16 Gaelic Football Dec/ 4th /2013

O’Connells 6-13

   Adamstown 1-4

The O’Connells men kept up their 100% winning record in the U/16 championship with a resounding win over Adamstown on a freezing day in west Dublin. Captain Dean Murphy opted to play with the strong breeze in the opening half, a decision that paid off with O’Connells camped in the Adamstown half for the first 15 minutes of the game.

Centre forward Mark Corcoran got OCS off to a flyer with a goal inside the first 30 seconds with a rasper of a shot coming down off the crossbar. Further superb scores were added by the second year pairing of Cameron Donnegan (point) and Ciaran Burnett (goal) before Adamstown responded with a point. The OCS onslaught didn’t let up with Craig Fagan, Julien Henry Bezy and Dean Murphy all adding scores to leave the boys in control at half time.

Facing a stiff breeze in the second half the OCS lads knew more work was needed. Following an inspirational Miss Shanahan speech the boys went about their business. Adam Kavanagh commanded affairs with some great runs into the forward line ably assisted by Dean Murphy and Craig Fagan at midfield who each shook the back of the Adamstown net with great goals. Cian Macken was called upon to make a number of saves late on but had an easy afternoon due to the solid displays of our full backs James Doran, Dylan Kelly and first year Calvin Kanda.

Dylan Gifford and Jordan McCann shut out the opposition forwards on a number of occasions. In fact Jordan pipped Adam Kavanagh and Mark Corcoran to the man of the match award with a tremendous display epitomised by two wonder blocks in succession late on. Julien Henry Bezy added a 5th OCS goal after a great run by Captain fantastic Dean Murphy before super sub Sean Knowd blasted home a venomous shot to settle things for the boys from North Richmond Street.

The win Leaves O’Connells top of their group with the next round most likely after the Christmas exams. Well done boys and congrats to manager extraordinaire Miss Shanahan.

1. Cian Macken
2.James Doran 3. Dylan Kelly 4. Calvin Kanda
5. Dylan Gifford 6. Adam Kavanagh 7. Jordan McCann
8. Craig Fagan 9. Dean Murphy (capt)
10. Anthony White 11. Mark Corcoran 12.Jordan Barnwell
13. Ciaran Burnett 14. Julien Henry Bezy 15.
Cameron Donegan.

Subs; 17. Christopher Brennan 18. Sean Knowd 19. Nasser Mossy
Waterboy – Aran Fagan

Scorers; Mark Corcoran 1-5, Craig Fagan 1-3, Dean Murphy 1-3, Julien Henry Bezy 1-1, Sean Knowd 1-0, Ciaran Burnett 1-0 , Cameron Donnegan 0-1,